This announcement is for information purposes only and does not constitute an invitation or offer by any person to acquire, purchase or subscribe for securities. This announcement is not, and is not intended to be, an offer of securities of the Company for sale in the United States. The securities of the Company have not been, and will not be, registered under the U.S. Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the "U.S. Securities Act") and may not be offered or sold in the United States absent registration or an applicable exemption from registration requirements under the U.S. Securities Act. There is not, and is not intended to be, any public offering of the securities of the Company in the United States.

Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



AIA Group Limited

友 邦 保 險 控 股 有 限 公 司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)

Stock Code: 1299

APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The board of directors (the "Board") of AIA Group Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Cesar Velasquez Purisima ("Mr. Purisima") as an Independent Non-executive Director of the Company and a member of the Nomination Committee of the Board with effect from 1 September 2017.

Mr. Purisima, aged 57, served in the government of the Republic of the Philippines (the "Philippines") as Secretary of the Department of Finance from July 2010 to June 2016 and as Secretary of the Department of Trade and Industry from January 2004 to February 2005. He also previously served on the boards of a number of government institutions, including as a member of Monetary Board of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (Central Bank of the Philippines), Governor of the World Bank Group for the Philippines, Governor of the Asian Development Bank for the Philippines, Alternate Governor of the International Monetary Fund for the Philippines and Chairman of Land Bank of the Philippines.

He was conferred the Chevalier dans l'Ordre national de la Légion d'Honneur (Knight of the National Order of the Legion of Honour) by the President of the French Republic in 2017, the Order of Lakandula, Rank of Grand Cross (Bayani) by the President of the Philippines in 2016 and the Chevalier de l'Ordre national du Mérite (Knight of the National Order of Merit) by the President of the French Republic in 2001.

Mr. Purisima is a certified public accountant. He has extensive experience in public accounting both in the Philippines and abroad. He was Chairman and Managing Partner of SyCip, Gorres, Velayo & Co. (a member firm of Andersen Worldwide until 2002 and became member firm of Ernst & Young Global Limited) from 1999 until 2004. During the period, Mr. Purisima was also the Asia-Pacific Area Managing Partner for Assurance and Business Advisory Services of Andersen Worldwide from 2001 to 2002 and Regional Managing Partner for the ASEAN Practice of Andersen Worldwide from 2000 to 2001.

Mr. Purisima obtained his Bachelor of Science in Commerce (Majors in Accounting & Management of Financial Institutions) degree from De La Salle University (Manila) in 1979, Master of Management degree from J. L. Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University in 1983 and Doctor of Humanities honoris causa degree from Angeles University Foundation (the Philippines) in 2012.

Mr. Purisima has confirmed that he meets the independence criteria as set out in Rule 3.13 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules").

Mr. Purisima's appointment is for a term of approximately three years, subject to the directors' retirement and re-election requirements under the Articles of Association of the Company and the Corporate Governance Code set out in Appendix 14 to the Listing Rules. He is entitled to receive an annual director's fee of US\$160,000 and an annual fee of US\$15,000 for acting as a member of the Nomination Committee. These fees were recommended by the Remuneration Committee with reference to his duties and responsibilities within the Company and the prevailing market conditions and approved by the Board. These fees are covered by and stipulated in a letter of appointment with the Company.

As at the date of this announcement, Mr. Purisima is deemed to be interested in 3,600 shares of the Company (the "Shares"), representing less than 0.01% of the total number of Shares in issue. Save as disclosed above, Mr. Purisima does not have any other interest or short position in the shares, underlying shares or debentures of the Company or any of its associated corporations within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

Mr. Purisima has not held any directorships in public companies the securities of which are listed on any securities market in Hong Kong or overseas in the last three years. He does not have any relationship with any director, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholders (as defined in the Listing Rules) of the Company.

Save as disclosed above, there is no information about Mr. Purisima that is required to be disclosed pursuant to the requirements of Rule 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules and there are no other matters in connection with his appointment that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

By Order of the Board

Ng Keng Hooi

Executive Director,

Group Chief Executive and President

Hong Kong, 31 August 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises:

Independent Non-executive Chairman and Independent Non-executive Director:

Mr. Edmund Sze-Wing Tse

Executive Director, Group Chief Executive and President:

Mr. Ng Keng Hooi

Non-executive Director:

Mr. Mark Edward Tucker

Independent Non-executive Directors:

Mr. Jack Chak-Kwong So, Mr. Chung-Kong Chow, Mr. John Barrie Harrison,

Mr. George Yong-Boon Yeo, Mr. Mohamed Azman Yahya, Professor Lawrence Juen-Yee Lau,

Ms. Swee-Lian Teo and Dr. Narongchai Akrasanee