This announcement is for information purposes only and does not constitute an invitation or offer by any person to acquire, purchase or subscribe for securities. This announcement is not, and is not intended to be, an offer of securities of the Company for sale in the United States. The securities of the Company have not been, and will not be, registered under the U.S. Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the "U.S. Securities Act") and may not be offered or sold in the United States absent registration or an applicable exemption from registration requirements under the U.S. Securities Act. There is not, and is not intended to be, any public offering of the securities of the Company in the United States.

Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## **AIA Group Limited**

## 友 邦 保 險 控 股 有 限 公 司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)

Stock Code: 1299

## APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of AIA Group Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce the appointment of Professor Lawrence Juen-Yee Lau ("Professor Lau") as an Independent Non-executive Director of the Company. He will also serve as a member of the Risk Committee and Nomination Committee of the Board. These appointments take effect from 18 September 2014.

Professor Lau, aged 69, currently serves as an independent non-executive director of CNOOC Limited and a non-executive director of Semiconductor Manufacturing International Corporation, both of which are listed on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited ("Hong Kong Stock Exchange") and an independent director of Far EasTone Telecommunications Company Limited which is listed on the Taiwan Stock Exchange. Professor Lau retired as Chairman of CIC International (Hong Kong) Co., Limited, a subsidiary of China Investment Corporation, in September 2014.

Professor Lau received his B.S. degree (with Great Distinction) in Physics from Stanford University in 1964 and his M.A. and Ph.D. degrees in Economics from the University of California at Berkeley in 1966 and 1969, respectively. He joined the faculty of the Department of Economics at Stanford University in 1966, becoming Professor of Economics in 1976 and the first Kwoh-Ting Li Professor in Economic Development at Stanford University in 1992. From 1992 to 1996, he served as a Co-Director of the Asia-Pacific Research Center at Stanford University, and from 1997 to 1999 as the Director of the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research. He became Kwoh-Ting Li Professor in Economic Development, Emeritus, at Stanford University upon his retirement in 2006.

From 2004 to 2010, Professor Lau served as Vice-Chancellor (President) of The Chinese University of Hong Kong. Since 2010, he has also served on a part-time basis as Ralph and Claire Landau Professor of Economics at The Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Professor Lau specializes in economic development, economic growth, and the economies of East Asia, including that of China. He has authored, coauthored, or edited six books and published more than 170 articles and notes in professional journals. Professor Lau is a member of the 12th National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference and a Vice-Chairman of its Sub-committee of Economics. He also serves as a member of the Exchange Fund Advisory Committee of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region and Chairman of its Governance Sub-committee and Member of its Currency Board Sub-committee. He was appointed a Justice of the Peace in July 2007 and awarded the Gold Bauhinia Star in 2011 by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

Professor Lau confirmed that he meets the independence criteria as set out in Rule 3.13 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules").

Professor Lau's appointment is for a term of 3 years commencing on 18 September 2014, subject to re-nomination and re-election in accordance with the articles of association of the Company or pursuant to the Listing Rules. He is entitled to receive an annual director's fee of US\$155,000 and an annual fee of US\$25,000 and US\$10,000 for acting as a member of the Risk Committee and Nomination Committee, respectively. The fees were set by the Remuneration Committee with reference to the duties and responsibilities within the Company and prevailing market conditions. The fees are covered by and stipulated in a service contract with the Company.

As at the date of this announcement, Professor Lau does not have any interest or short position in shares, underlying shares or debentures of the Company or any of its associated corporations within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

Save as disclosed above, Professor Lau has not held any other directorships in other Hong Kong and overseas listed public companies in the last three years. Other than the positions disclosed above, Professor Lau does not hold any position in the Company or any of its subsidiaries. Professor Lau does not have any relationship with any director, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholder(s) (as defined in the Listing Rules) of the Company.

Professor Lau confirmed that there is no other information relating to him that is required to be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules and there are no other matters which need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company in connection with his appointment.

By Order of the Board

Mark Edward Tucker

Executive Director,

Group Chief Executive and President

Hong Kong, 18 September 2014

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises:

Non-executive Chairman and Non-executive Director:

Mr. Edmund Sze-Wing Tse

Executive Director, Group Chief Executive and President:

Mr. Mark Edward Tucker

*Independent Non-executive Directors:* 

Mr. Jack Chak-Kwong So, Mr. Chung-Kong Chow, Mr. John Barrie Harrison,

Mr. George Yong-Boon Yeo, Mr. Mohamed Azman Yahya and Professor Lawrence Juen-Yee Lau