This announcement is for information purposes only and does not constitute an invitation or offer by any person to acquire, purchase or subscribe for securities. This announcement is not, and is not intended to be, an offer of securities of the Company for sale in the United States. The securities of the Company have not been, and will not be, registered under the U.S. Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the "U.S. Securities Act") and may not be offered or sold in the United States absent registration or an applicable exemption from registration requirements under the U.S. Securities Act. There is not, and is not intended to be, any public offering of the securities of the Company in the United States.

Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## **AIA Group Limited**

## 友邦保險控股有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)

Stock Code: 1299

## APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of AIA Group Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. George Yong-Boon Yeo as an Independent Non-executive Director of the Company with effect from 2 November 2012.

Mr. Yeo, aged 58, is currently the Vice-chairman of Kerry Group (HK) Pte Ltd and the Chairman of Kerry Logistics Network Limited. He is a member of the Foundation Board of the World Economic Forum and the Nicolas Berggruen Institute's 21st Century Council. In 2012, Mr. Yeo was presented with the Order of Sikatuna by the Philippines Government and the Padma Bhushan by the Indian Government.

From 1988 to 2011, Mr. Yeo was a Member of the Singapore Parliament and held various Cabinet positions including Minister for Foreign Affairs, Minister for Trade and Industry, Minister for Health, Minister for Information and the Arts and Minister of State for Finance. From 1972 to 1988, Mr. Yeo served in the Singapore Armed Forces and attained the rank of Brigadier-General in 1988 when he was Director of Joint Operations and Planning in the Ministry of Defence. Mr. Yeo received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Engineering from Cambridge University with a Double First and an MBA with High Distinction (Baker Scholar) from the Harvard Business School. In October this year, he was conferred an Honorary Doctorate by Hong Kong Polytechnic University.

Mr. Yeo confirmed that he meets the independence criteria as set out in Rule 3.13 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules").

Mr. Yeo is entitled to receive an annual director's fee of US\$155,000. The fee was set by the Remuneration Committee with reference to the duties and responsibilities within the Company and prevailing market conditions. The fee is covered by and stipulated in a service contract with the Company.

Mr. Yeo's appointment is for a term of 3 years commencing on 2 November 2012, subject to retirement by rotation and re-election in accordance with the articles of association of the Company.

As at the date of this announcement, Mr. Yeo does not have any interest or short position in shares, underlying shares or debentures of the Company or any of its associated corporations within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

Save as disclosed above, Mr. Yeo has not held any other directorships in other Hong Kong and overseas listed public companies in the last three years. Other than the positions disclosed above, Mr. Yeo does not hold any position in the Company or any of its subsidiaries and does not have any relationship with any director, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company.

Mr. Yeo confirmed that there is no other information relating to him that is required to be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules and there are no other matters which need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company in connection with his appointment.

By order of the Board

Mark Edward Tucker

Executive Director,

Group Chief Executive and President

Hong Kong, 2 November 2012

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises:

Non-executive Chairman and Non-executive Director:

Mr. Edmund Sze-Wing Tse

Executive Director, Group Chief Executive and President:

Mr. Mark Edward Tucker

*Independent Non-executive Directors:* 

Mr. Jack Chak-Kwong So, Mr. Chung-Kong Chow, Dr. Qin Xiao, Mr. John Barrie Harrison,

Mr. Barry Chun-Yuen Cheung and Mr. George Yong-Boon Yeo